Thursday 29 March 2018 – Happy 110th birthday to Britain’s oldest men

alf smithrobert weughton

On 29 March 1908 two boys were born – Alfred Smith (above left) in Invergowrie and Robert Weightman (above right) in Hull.  Today, 110 years later, the two boys are now joint oldest men in Britain as they celebrate their 110th birthdays.  Both men have survived two world wars, lived through 29 British general elections, 26 premierships of 22 different prime ministers, 20 US presidents, 10 Popes and 5  British monarchs. A very warm happy birthday to both.


ALFRED (ALF) SMITH

  • Born: 29 March 1908, Invergowrie, Scotland, the fifth of six sons
  • Grew up in St Madras, Perthshire, Scotland
  • Has also lived in Canada in his early 20s
  • Worked on his farm at Kintauns, near Perth, Scotland into his 80s
  • On reasons for his longevity he says: “Porridge, of course! I like my porridge and I eat it every day.That is helpful and having a job you enjoy. I like to think I’ve lived a decent life. I do ask myself – why me? Why have I lived so long when others haven’t?”
  • His daughter, Irene, also puts his longevity down to his work: He says he enjoyed what he did and he has had a good life. He has been within two or three miles of the river Tay all his life like his father and grandfather before him.”


ROBERT WEIGHTON

  • Born: 29 March 1980, in Hull, England, on of seven in his family
  • Grew up in Hull
  • Now lives in Alton, Hampshire, England
  • Has also lived in Taiwan, Japan and Canada
  • Worked as an engineer
  • On reasons for his longevity he said: “I have not lived my life avoiding being run over by buses or getting cancer or anything else,” he said. “I’ve done nothing to deserve or achieve this age. I’m just one of the lucky ones. I think laughter is extremely important. Most of the trouble in the world is caused by people taking themselves too seriously.”

robert weighton child

Photo: Robert Weighton as a child


The two men have never met but are aware of each other and in recent years have been exchanging birthday cards.


Sources & Further Reading: