Tuesday 9 August 2016 – Magellan cruise liner takes refuge at Liverpool

DSCN1946DSCN1942

The cruise liner Magellan was scheduled to make its first visit to Liverpool next year. However today she was forced to make an unscheduled diversion up the River Mersey to take refuge from bad weather in the Irish Sea. She was on her way to the Isle of Mull in Scotland and the passengers got an unexpected extra day in Liverpool. I jumped at the chance to photograph a cruise liner which hasn’t been to the city before and which, therefore, I have not yet photographed.  It was wet and windy but I managed to time my journey to Princes Parade, alongside which runs the Liverpool Cruise Liner Terminal, well enough to at least avoid the rain.

panorama2

DSCN1945DSCN1963

You can view all the photos I took today on my Flickr site. Alternatively, watch my videos & photos of the Magellan on my YouTube  channel. The video is also at the top of this post. You can also read a Liverpool Echo article about the Magellan’s unscheduled stop.

