Sunday 13 March 2016 – Wirral Egg Run at New Brighton

For the first time I went to watch the Wirral Egg Run at New Brighton, and it was a glorious day for it. The Egg Run  is an annual event where bikers ride in their hundreds from New Brighton to raise money for the charities Claire House, Blood Bikes North West and North West Air Ambulance. They also carry on the tradition of delivering Easter Eggs for  sick children.  I got the train to New Brighton from Liverpool and walked along to the Dips in New Brighton where the bikers were congregating from around 9am for the 11am start. There were hundreds of bikes there, of all shapes and  sizes – from mopeds to magnificent Harley Davidsons, Yamahas, BMWs and many, many more famous names. There were also many customised bikes, including a massive one that was a cross between a car and a bike – called the Excalibur (pictured below).

 

IMG_0599IMG_0601

By the start at 11am I had waked along to Harrison Drive and Grove Road where I took videos of the the bikes as they started on their trip to Clatterbridge Hospital via Wallasey, Moreton, Hoylake, West Kirby, Thurstaston, Heswall and Thornton Hough. I don’t know how many bikers took part in the so-called “tribute ride-out,”  but it must have been in the hundreds – and according to the Liverpool Echo, in the  thousands. The parade of bikes was passing me for 40 minutes or more before I stopped filming as my camera battery was running low.  I’ve put both the photos and videos online, you can view them via the links below:

1. Videos on YouTube (approx. 26 mins) – also above (NOTE: video quality improves at around 2min 8sec)

2. Photo animation on YouTube (approx. 5 mins) – also below

3. Photos on Flickr

4. Liverpool Echo article (Sunday 13 March 2016)

IMG_0617IMG_0659

While there I also bumped into Gary Slade for the first time in many years. I knew him back in 1990 when we were both studying at CTF Training on the Wirral. Gary, or “Stan” as many call him, is a Stan Laurel impersonator. I chatted with him for a few minutes, taking his photo with his colleague who impersonates Oliver Hardy. You can see him riding pillion with “Ollie” riding the bike at the front of the “tribute ride-out” in my videos above. Though you’ll have to be quick to spot it. To help you spot him, click HERE to start my videos at the spot just before they appear. Two white cars go past and they are just behind them, with Gary holding down his hat. If you run the videos using the link listed further up this post, they appear at 2 minutes 8 seconds into the videos.

IMG_0640

