Thursday 10 December 2015 – Placebo’s latest album ‘MTV Unplugged’

I bought Placebo’s latest CD today, MTV Unplugged, which I’m listening to as I write this blog entry.  The recording is of a live gig at The London Studios on 19 August this year.  A DVD  has also been released.

image

The band on the recording is: Brian Molko (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Stefan Olsdal (piano, bass, backing vocals, guitar, qanun, shruti drone box), Matt Lunn (drums), Fiona Brice (violin, piano, backing vocals, whirly tube, glockenspiel), William Lloyd (bass, acordiona, piano), Nick Gavrilovic (guitar, piano). Special guest vocalists: Majke Voss Romme (“Every You Every Me”) and Joan As Police Woman (“Protect Me From What I Want”).

image

The DVD of the gig is great. There are some great light effects which displayed on a transparent screen at the front of the stage, so that the light effects are in front of the band instead of on a screen at the back of the stage. The photo above shows one such effect.

The CD contains some of my favourite Placebo songs, including “Without You I’m Nothing,” “Protect Me From What I Want,” “Without You I’m Nothing” and my all-time favourite, “Every You Every Me.” This latter track, however, is a much slower-paced version with a guest singer, Majke Voss Romme (aka Broken Twin) on vocals with Brian Molko .

image

The full track listing is:

1.   Jackie
2.    For What It’s Worth
3.   36 Degrees
4.   Because I Want You
5.   Every You Every Me (feat. Majke Voss Romme )
6.   Song To Say Goodbye
7.   Meds
8.   Protect Me From What I Want (feat. Joan As Police Woman)
9.   Loud Like Love
10. Too Many Friends
11. Post Blue
12. Slave To The Wage
13. Without You I’m Nothing
14.Hold On To Me
15. Bosco
16. Where Is My Mind?
17. The Bitter End

If you haven’t heard the album yet it is well worth getting hold of. If you’ve not yet discovered the pleasures of Placebo and the wonderful vocals of their singer Brian Molko – who was 43 today – then check them out.

image

