“Bushisms” No.1 – words uttered by George W. Bush

“If you’re sick and tired of the politics of cynicism and polls and principles, come and join this campaign.” – Hilton Head, South Carolina, 16 February 2000.

* * * * *

“I don’t know whether I’m going to win or not. I think I am. I do not know I’m ready for the job. And if not, that’s just the way it goes.” – Des Moines, Iowa, 21 August 2000.

* * * * *

“This is Preservation Month. I appreciate preservation. It’s what you do when you do when you run for President. You gotta preserve.” – Speaking during Perseverance Month at Fairgrounds Elementary School in Nashua, New Hampshire. Quoted in the Los Angeles Times, 28 January 2000 .

* * * * *

“I understand small business growth. I was one.” – New York Daily News, 19 February 2000 .

* * * * *

“I have different vision of leadership. A leadership is someone who brings people together.” – Bartlett, Tennessee, 18 August 2000 .

* * * * *

“I am a person who recognises the fallacy of humans.” – Oprah, 19 September 2000 .

* * * * *

“I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully.” – Saginaw, Michigan, 29 September 2000 .

* * * * *

“It is clear our nation is reliant upon big foreign oil. More and more of our imports come from overseas.” – Beaverton, Oregon, 25 September 2000 .

* * * * *

“I want to each and every American to know for certain that I’m responsible for the decisions I make, and each of you are as well.” – Live with Regis, 20 September 2000 .

* * * * *

“The administration I’ll bring is a group of men and women who are focused on what’s best for America, honest men and women who will see service to our country as a great privilege and who will not stain the house.” – Des Moines, Iowa, 15 January 2000 .

* * * * *

“They have miscalculated me as a leader.” – Westminster, California, 13 September 2000 .

* * * * *

“They misunderestimated me.” – Bentonville, Arkansas, 6 November 2000 .

* * * * *

“They said, ‘You know, this issue doesn’t seem to resignate with the people.’ And I said, ‘You know something? Whether it resignates or not doesn’t matter to me, because I stand for doing what’s the right thing is hearing the voices of people who work’.” – Portland, Oregon, 31 October 2000 .

* * * * *

“I regret that a private comment I made to the vice presidential candidate made it through the public airways.” – Allentown, Pennsylvannia, 5 September 2000. .

* * * * *

“That’s a chapter, the last chapter of the twentieth, twentieth, twenty-first century that most of us would rather forget. The last chapter of the twentieth century. This is the first chapter of the twenty-first century.” – Arlington Heights, Illinois, 24 October 2000.

